Home

Recently I subscribed to a bunch of new feeds in my RSS reader. What’s new? As a result an unprecedentedly sizeable proportion of the many blogs I follow are now feminism ones. Don’t get me wrong – having studied English Literature, Politics, and Critical Theory (the broad not-neccessarily-Frankfurt-School kind), it’s not like feminism is an entirely new concept to me. All the same, it’s recently come to my attention that though I’ve dabbled, I’ve never really read any old-school seminal feminism; I mean the Freidan-Greer-Wolf type stuff.

I’m sure that there is a lot more to the feminist movement than the most famous books on the topic,  but to satisfy my curiosity about the history of the movement (and amongst other things finally establish what exactly the ‘waves‘ were that people talk about so often) I decided to set about filling in the gap.

To make it a little more interesting , I want to share the process here on WLM by writing a series of book reviews as I go along. And it is rather self-indulgent, yes.

The books I’m thinking of to start with are Fat is a Feminist Issue by Susie Orbach, The Beauty Myth by Naomi Wolf, and the Female Eunuch by Germain Greer (because I’ve already bought them). There’s not going to be any particular order or priority for books, just that in which Brighton’s second hand bookshops make copies available to me.

I’m also not going to analyse them through any specific theoretical framework – just from my own humble personal perspective. I’m sure my position as a relatively-uninitiated but political young woman of an ethnic minority background in 2010 will inform my analysis duly.

If I was more awake, I’d come up with a catchy name for the series. But I’m not, so Feminist Book Review Series will do for now.

I’m already partway through digesting my second book, and am finalising my first review so watch this space.

5 thoughts on “Feminist Book Reviews Series: (My) Introduction to Feminism:

  1. I’m looking forward to this series. I’ve read a lot in religious feminism but not secular feminism. I’m looking forward to my own introduction to that discipline.

    • Thanks, so am I. Religious feminism sounds interesting – presumably people of different religious persuasions have different ways of taking up the feminist baton?

    • Ah, I do like a bit of Open Democracy! Thumbs up to this quote:

      At the same time the earlier association of feminism with a broader programme of social emancipation and rationality has been eroded – by the collapse of the broader trend and through a diversion of much “third-wave” feminist theorising and debate into epistemological and political blind alleys.

      • This is a good quote. It relates to what we were saying thursday evening about a lack of coherent ideology or metanarrative (“broader programme of social emancipation”)for the left. Shirin Ebadi (the Iranian democracy campaigner made the same point): “The Iranian women’s movement is not simply demanding equal rights alone. It is demanding a larger universal reality, which is democracy.” – Shirin Ebadi, October 9, 2009.

Leave a Reply

